课堂之外的精彩:青苗的课外活动

 

在青苗,丰富多彩的课堂生活只是学生整个教育的一个方面,走出课堂,学生们参与到各种各样的课外活动中去,这些活动精心策划并为学生量身定做,以促进学生在人格、社会、身体方面的全面发展。

演出&庆典

Beijing Opera - 京剧

Beijing Opera – 京剧

 

 

每年青苗都会为家长奉献一场大型演出-青苗春季庆典,除此之外,为了给学生提供更多的机会展示自己和增长自信,青苗学生定期会在各个校区组织一些展演。不仅如此,基于对多元文化的尊重和理解,青苗也会在中国和一些国际节日进行庆祝活动,像中国的春节、国际食物节、联合国日。这些节日和活动让学生和家长生对我们生活的国际化社区加深了解的同时也收获很多乐趣。

 

野外旅行

在整个学年中,学生将有机会参加一天的或者需要外宿的旅行考察,目的在于培养学生的冒险精神、激发他们的勇气、考验他们团队合作和领导能力。这些远足考察作为日常课程的补充和完善,并给予学生一次深刻的文化体验。前几年我们去了西安、桂林和内蒙古,这些旅行让学生们有机会体验中国博大精深的文化,增强个人的独立意识和责任心,同时也实践了在课堂里的所学,用中国的一句古话来说就是读万卷书,行万里路。

 

课外活动

为了拓展学生在语言、体育、艺术以及其他领域的创造性需求,青苗提供种类繁多、丰富多彩的课外活动。我们鼓励所有的学生都参加课外活动,因为选择课外活动往往有助于学生综合素质的全面发展。

时间安排

课外活动的时间为每天下午的4:00-5:00。平常乘坐班车的学生,如果选了课外活动的课,可以乘坐5:05分的校车。高年级的学生可以参加时间更长的课外活动,比如晚上或者周末。我们鼓励学生在选课时,要根据自己的实际情况来选,以保持各个学习领域的均衡。

 

课外语言拓展

对于那些对中英文的语言实践有额外兴趣的学生,青苗在两个校区设置语言拓展课程。这些课程通过各种游戏、活动以及阅读将系统的学习和语言的运动结合起来,给学生带来全方位的、令人身心愉悦的语言学习新体验。

 

体育活动

为了丰富体育活动活动,增强体质,同时增进健康、弘扬学校精神和加强团队合作,青苗对1年级及以上的所有孩子开放体育课程。青苗的常规体育项目包括足球、篮球、游泳、瑜伽、体操、网球、羽毛球和乒乓球,并根据季节安排和调整其它项目。青苗也积极参与校际间的各种体育赛事,是JISAC初级国际学校体育会议的一个活跃成员。

 

音乐&表演 机会拓展

通过艺术学习,学生技能不断提高,这将让他们受益终生。青苗的学生可以选学音乐和戏剧,每年青苗各个年级的学生都会参加我们的大型庆典演出-青苗春季庆典,这是一场面向整个青苗大家庭的集表演、舞蹈、歌唱等于一体的大型现场演出盛典。

 

机会拓展

有些时候学生们想要的是能够放松一下,为了满足这种非常现实而重要的需求,青苗安排了兼具趣味性和建设性的课外课程。乐高、疯狂科学和中国象棋等课能够开发学生的逻辑思维和批判能力。通过我们的烹饪课,可以让孩子掌握实际的烹饪的技巧外,也能促进他们的合作能力,同时也传授了关于食品安全的知识。在我们的音乐课上,学生可以尝试一件新的乐器,展现他们的艺术天赋。

 

夏令营

每年7月青苗国际双语学校都会举办暑期班,孩子们可以根据自身情况在四周的时间里选择学习英文或者中文,同时还能参加很多有趣有益的活动。青苗暑假班面向所有学校和幼儿园的2至16岁的孩子们开放。我们欢迎各种语言水平的学生,我们通过测评将他们分配到合适语言水平的班级。

暑假班课程安排包括综合听、说、读、写的强化语言学习,通过游戏或者练习的方式,中间穿插休息时间以及室内外艺术、体育、烹饪及文化活动等等,全心为孩子打造一个有趣、均衡的暑期学习班。

Going Beyond: BIBS’ Co-Curricular and Extra-Curricular Activities

Beijing Opera - 京剧

Beijing Opera – 京剧

The dynamic classroom learning environment at BIBS is only one aspect of the complete education students receive at our school. Extending outside the classroom, students participate in structured, purposeful activities designed to help develop students personally, socially and physically.

Performances & Celebrations
In addition to the large-scale performance put on each year by BIBS students for our parents (the BIBS Spring Show), BIBS students are regularly involved in local performances in the community, giving plenty of opportunities for self expression and developing self-confidence. Moreover, with an eye to celebrating diversity and understanding, BIBS also celebrates Chinese and International festivals such as Chinese New Year, International Food Day and United Nations Day. These festivals and others give students and their parents opportunities to learn more about the international community in which we live and to have fun at the same time!

Field Trips

Throughout the school year, students will take part in one-day and residential excursions designed to instil a spirit of adventure and encourage key elements of teamwork and leadership in our students. These excursions compliment and supplement the normal curriculum and can be great cultural experiences. Past student trips to Xi’an, Guilin and Inner-Mongolia offered students opportunities to experience the rich culture of China, to develop independence and responsibility, all while making connections and applying previous learning.

After School Activities (ASAs)

BIBS offers an extensive After School Activities (ASA) program offering our students the opportunity to take extend themselves in language, sport, the arts, or other creative pursuits they choose. We encourage all our students to take part in ASAs as activities chosen outside the classroom oftentimes create lasting memories and help develop whole, well-rounded students.

Schedule & Seasons:

After School Activities start after school each day at 4:00pm typically run until 5pm. Students who normally take the bus and chose to participate in ASAs can take the ASA bus home at 5:05pm. Students at the upper grades may take part in activities that run longer into the evening or even weekends. Students are encouraged to be practical when making their ASA selections in order to maintain balance.

Extra Language Opportunities

For students interested in extra English or Chinese practice, BIBS offers language extension classes at both campuses. These classes integrate structured learning and practice with games, activities and reading for a well-rounded and enjoyable supplemental language learning experience.

Sports

Promoting physical activity and wellbeing, as well as healthy competition, school spirit and teamwork, the BIBS sports program is open to all students in Grade 1 and above. BIBS regularly offers soccer, basketball, swimming, yoga, gymnastics, tennis, badminton and table tennis, with sports offerings vary by season. BIBS teams also take part in inter-school sports competitions, and the school is an active member in JISAC (Junior International Schools Athletic Conference).

Music & Performance

Through the arts, students refine skills used throughout the rest of their lives. Augmenting music and drama that is part of the curriculum, BIBS students can choose to , Each year, students at all grade levels participate in a grand production – the BIBS Spring Show – a grand production showcasing acting, dancing and singing in a live performance for the entire BIBS Community.

Extended Opportunities

Sometimes all students want is to be able to kick back and relax. To meet this very real and important need, BIBS offers ASA classes that are both fun and constructive. Lego, Crazy Science and Chinese chess help develop students’ critical thinking and logic, cooking classes promote co-operation and teach practical cooking skills as well as food safety and our music programs give students a chance to try out a new instrument and express their artistic side.

Summer Programs

Every July BIBS runs a summer learning and adventure program, designed to provide additional English or Chinese study combined with lots of fun activities. BIBS Summer Programs are open to children from any school or kindergarten, from age 2-16. We welcome children at any level of language development and assess all students ensure that they are placed in appropriate language classes.

Our fun, yet balanced study programs involve periods of focused language learning incorporating speaking, listening, reading and writing, as well as games and exercises interspersed with breaks and periods of indoor and outdoor arts, sports, cooking and cultural activities.